jump to navigation

World of Goo Ported To Linux 14 February, 2009

Posted by aronzak in Uncategorized.
trackback

An indie development team of 2 guys has created an incredibly good game called “World of goo” that has received wide critical acclaim. The great news is that this game has been ported to Linux. After playing only a few levels of it, I can tell it’s awesome. It’s a little bit like some old bridge builder games, in which you get a train over a river, but much more fun. Simply put, I’m blown away by the quality of this game.

Some people view PC gaming as dying. Or to put it another way, it is changing. Less and less titles are being released only on PC, with most PC games being ports of console games. One reason that is slowing down Linux adoption is the lack of support for PC games. I’ve heard it said that the shift away from PC gaming will be good for Linux, as it will mean that people won’t expect to be able to play games on their computers. It’s true that this can help Linux, but does anyone want to see PC gaming die? Do you really want only to be able to play console ports and MMO’s? That’s what will happen if piracy isn’t controlled.

I want to present two futures of PC gaming. One is that PC only games will cease to exist. Games that do get released on the PC will  come with DRM that makes the game fail to run whenever you change your hardware. Many games also have online only play, some of which you pay extra for. Of course, they’ll still be consoles, but the traditional feel of games will be gone.

Let me give you another solution. One where rather than having just large companies like EA churn out unoriginal blockbusters, teams as small as two people can defect and make a creative fun, and clever game. This can only happen if the community supports them.

This comment on Isohunt is not in good English, but it gets the point across.

Think before downloading the game…great post over at piratebay by flowcharter…

1- I was curious to see whether there were people so vacuous as to trade around a cheap indie game with absolutely no DRM on it and then try to justify it with stated oxymora such as “oh, I’m not interested in the game anyway, that’s why I’m taking the time to download it.”. Turns out I was right

2- Absolutely, I download stuff all the time. I’ve downloaded a tonne of games from GOG, Stardock, even direct from the makers of some other games. I’m also pretty partial to hitting up Gametrailers when there’s an upcoming release I’m interested in. Left 4 Dead is looking up to spec I’m glad to see.

3- You’re going to start blaming the economy now? Still, if you’re suffering that badly that you can’t afford $20, I imagine you must have a hard time eating these days. How on Earth DOES one manage to spend on a high speed internet connection? Well, priorities are priorities I suppose…

4- This one’s really a three parter

a) There’s a pretty good and descriptive demo out, so no real problem “trying out the game” anyway.

b) These are indie devs, not your usual corporate types, just two guys that decided to make a game.

c) It’s $20, not $60. Even from an absolute minimum wage in the US you’d get as much in a little over two hours of work, and probably a lot less. You’d pay more for a night out. Well, unless your idea of a night out happens to be McDonalds, which I’m willing to accede may be position in your particular case.

5- If you’re so tired of picking the fight, why feel the need to justify your actions in the first place? Do you spend your spare time responding to youtube comments as well? Actually scrap that last one, maybe you do. In any case, you state it’s your given right to share this information, and I must say I’m impressed with your candour! Tell me, what have you yourself uploaded and shared with the rest of this fine community?

Still, perhaps an explanation is in order as to why this particular incidence is garnering a fair number of negative responses in comparison to most other cases.

It’s really quite simple. The fact that is this is just two indie developers who spent two years of their own effort and money to create a truly amazing indie game has garnered a lot of attention, and a pretty hefty amount of sympathy for them as well.

Ultimately, indie devs survive or don’t based on whether people are willing to purchase their games, but more importantly, so too does their future output. So if a pretty special game like this just gets pirated through the floor, they pretty much go under, nothing ever gets released from them again, and more importantly, more devs learn that the PC is NOT a viable platform anymore for anything. And it pretty much is heading that way at the moment. Ironic isn’t it?

They also happen to get extra bonus points for the fact that they actually listened to their customers and didn’t put any DRM on there TO crack.

If you want your answer as to why this is happening, that’s pretty much why. It could be argued that there may be a fair amount of hypocrisy involved in people having more sympathy for an indie developer just starting out (regardless of how excellent their starting title is), but what can I say, life’s like that. Few people are interested in defending corporates that weigh down their games with so much DRM and install limits that you need to call a helpline every time your PC installs a new driver. But an indie dev starting out with an awesome game and no DRM? Yeah, I guess people just tend to have more sympathy for that.

Still, I can appreciate that you say the game is boring to you and that you didn’t really like it. Saying that means it doesn’t ultimately have to cost you anything in either money or personal justification, so I’m glad that a happy ending was the result. Hmm, perhaps I should try that actually, simply HATE everything I download and therefore there’s no reason for me to actually concern myself with spending anything because my moral scruples have been satisfied. I say, this may very well be an astonishing discovery for market economics, I wonder if it’s patentable? Well in any case, it’s obvious you’re quite a capable individual, and you know a quality product. I genuinely look forward to when you have the opportunity to fully express yourself against the wages of the industry by releasing your own game. I guarantee you, if it’s good enough to not only live up to my relatively low standards, but even YOUR enviable ideals, I will happily buy that from you as well. Looking forward to it.

Well, I’m not looking to convince anyone. Not as if it’s realistically possible, but people were curious why so many people appeared to be posting complaints, so why not take the time to explain eh? All I can suggest is that if you like the game, support the devs. It’s a genuinely good game, and the devs were pretty on the level when selling it.

Apologies for length, but I appreciate that people of your stamina will have no problem easily digesting this modest article, and as you took the time to elucidate your point so thoroughly, I thought it would be positively discourteous if I did not respond in kind. Your patience is most appreciated.

There’s better coverage on Ken Starks’s Helios Blog. I just wanted to say two things. One is that this game is awesome. Two: Don’t punish the creative developers that have the audacity to release a game without DRM, and the vision to port it to Linux.

Comments»

1. Julian Casablanca - 14 February, 2009

nice post…
visit http://forfree.ifastnet.com
for more games, software, etc


Leave a Reply

